Nibble at Banapple

We’re looking for a new place to eat within the Gateway area, we tried all the restaurants inside that mall, and so we decided to try Banapple. It’s just located near the entrance of the Gateway mall, ground floor. The name itself is too catchy, sort of fusion of banana and apple — so happen to be the two fruits I like the most. I haven’t checked their menu, I was hoping they don’t sell only fruit shakes here or desserts, hahaha! Let’s go check it out.

img_6310

Ambiance

The front house is cool, the name at the top of the door is good enough for fast restaurant recall. I thought the interior is so-so, nothing fancy on the restaurant architecture. What surprise me really, is that you order the food at the counter, just like any typical fast food chains. Not sure what’s the deal on that setup or the classification if they’re a restaurant or a fast food chain. I like that they have cabinet displays for the other merchandise like cookies or bread, that’s good product promotion.

img_6294

img_6305

Food

There were good dishes out there for Banapple. That hickory barbecue rib is such a hit! It’s so tender, and a big portion I must say. That lasagna roll-up is interesting enough, unfortunately, I’m too full to eat that so I ended up, taking it home. That mustard sauce with the cream dory is a complimentary contrast. Serving wise, one plate can really make your stomach full. I wish their tables aren’t circle, it’s hard to eat side by side with family members. (my arms are feeling restricted) It would be more convenient to have personal spaces to enjoy a great meal.

img_6299

Lasagna roll-ups, P235


img_6300

Breaded fillet cream of dory with honey thyme mustard sauce, P230


Hickory smoked barbecued country ribs, P240

Hickory smoked barbecued country ribs, P240

Those who ordered the garlic beef tapa didn’t like it very much =( It’s hard to chew, nothing stands out from that dish, that’s a big let down on their menu. Basic logic on cooking, if it would take some time to cook beef or any meat, and it wasn’t boiled, at least cut that into strips, cook with a spoon. Yes, you read that right. (faster cooking technique)

The Banapple smoothie is that good, that makes me want to sleep after that heavy lunch. The way they market lasagna roll-up is a good one, people get intrigued and would order it, I just hope it has more sauce and ricotta cheese on it. They can improve some of their brunch meals esp that tapa, for a price point of P225, they can put a lot more to it.

I like what I ordered and I’m feeling happy (sometimes I cringe due to the hickory sauce) after that meal.

Prices

A full heavy meal can be between P200-P350. It can be a little steep for others, but they do offer pancakes, cookies, salad, and soups for less than P200 bucks. Overall I’m giving Banapple, a 3.5 out of 5, I really like the hickory ribs and I’ll be coming back to try some of their bestsellers.

Banapple

Ground Floor, Gateway mall
Araneta Center, Cubao, Quezon City
Opening hours: 7:30 AM to 11 PM

Leave your awesome comments

