Understanding INTJ as the “Perceiver”

secrets_to_life_know_thyself

By now it has come to our consciousness that people are created differently. While there are lots of methods to measure the personality types, I have always believed in the Myers-Briggs classification, it has been consistent by identifying who I am. By identifying ourselves, we will make great discoveries.

Have you ever wondered why some people get you, like they are easy to talk with, while others seem to come from another planet? With this in mind, I know I am an INTJ, I have taken a lot of MBTI tests and it all boils down to that. Particularly a perceiver as its main cognitive style. INTJ personality classification are the rarest and the hardest for the other personality types to understand. Less than 3% of the population are INTJ and less than 1% women are INTJ. INTJ personalities are: Introverted, iNtuitive, Thinkers and Judges.

Introverted does not necessarily mean shy and quiet. INTJ’s can talk quite a bit – but not of anything of their personal nature. They keep private things entirely private.

Intuitive – ability to immediately understand something. They are people who can see many different possibilities. They come up with unique solutions to complex problems. They are creative when it comes to problem solving.

Thinkers – INTJ are very analytical. They are extremely busy (mentally) even when they are not doing anything. Their minds are always working on some theory or complex problem.

Judge – if you ask an INTJ their opinion about something, do not be horrified when they are brutally honest. Honesty is what you will get – even if it isn’t really what you wanted.

INTJ are extremely logical minded and rarely speak unless they know something to be a fact – unless they are throwing something out to get a reaction. Often INTJs are mistaken as arrogant when they are actually self confident – they know what they know and, more importantly know what they do not know and keep their mouths shut about things they do not know. If you do not make sense or are make a lot of small talk, it will be difficult to get along with a INTJ personality very well. INTJ’s have little patience for chit chat over nothing and they expect others to be as logical as they are. This said, they are EXTREMELY loyal people and are more than willing to work at a relationship even though they lack natural empathy that Feeling type people have.

Perceivers ( ENTP, INTJ, INTP, ENTJ)

  • Tendency to think from the top down. They need to get a grip on and understand the whole picture before they can understand its individual components.
  • Think abstractly and in terms of associations. One thing will lead them to think of another, then another, then another. They often form new concepts and draw connections between two different things this way. Thoughts come together in odd ways and they often have “aha!” moments when things are pieced together and make sense
  • Has great disdain and hatred for hypocrisy and dishonesty. People who say they believe something but act otherwise greatly bother a perceiver.
  • Think about new concepts that are “out there” in terms of a “Circle of Reasonableness”. As the perceiver attains new information and new facts about the questionable concept, their certainty about its possibility will become greater or lesser accordingly.
  • Not likely to be affected by peer pressure. A Perceiver will stand by their convictions regardless and will stand by their ideas and decisions until given enough information to reject them.

The INTJ is an effective leader, because he looks at the facts of the situation and comes up with a rational plan. And, when the facts do change, then he will adjust the plan to suit the new situation, even when this involves major rethinking. When he leads, he gives freedom to those who are under him, as long as they live up to his standards of objectivity and rational understanding. When someone does meet these standards, then the INTJ will recognize his contribution. However, those who fall short of the INTJ’s standards will find themselves limited, restricted, or set aside. While the INTJ can be a good leader, he will not step into leadership unless asked or needed. That is because he hates emotional pressure, and expects that the facts should speak for themselves.

The INTJ has a quirky sense of humor, based in Perceiver facts and Teacher emotion. He finds it amusing when Perceiver facts or meanings lead to strange or twisted Teacher theories. Thus, he appreciates irony, puns, logic contradictions, and twisted meanings.

5 comments

  1. Thank you. I have been looking for INTJ posts online as a way to affirm and gain personal support. I was beginning to wonder if I was wrong about being an INTJ because I have been reading INTJ posts that were so uber logical and cold in tone as to almost seem silly. I have tested INTJ for many years consistently but also having been through some very stressful life circumstances I wondered if what I was judging as personality traits what were actually just a reaction to life events. Anyway, your post was very helpful to me and I appreciate seeing posts from any female INTJs as we are so sparse. I would like to comment that I see INTJs as creatively pragmatic to the highest level! We do what works, even if it seems ridiculous. As long as it solves the problem, we are willing to try it. I see myself as very open-minded, and I get really discouraged when I encounter people who are uncomfortable with my ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yikes, I just tried to post a really long comment and I think I lost it! So I’ll try a shorter one. Here goes:

      I love to comment on INTJ sites, because as a 42 Y.O. female INTJ, I know that we she-INTJs need all the encouragement we can get!

      First-we’re not cold, although we may come across as such. “INTJ” actually indicates 4 cognitive functions: Introverted Intuition, Extraverted Thinking, Introverted Feeling, and Extraverted Sensing, or Ni Te Fi Se. Our Fi and Se take longer to develop, being weaker. At my age, these are starting to come out more. In some, the weaker functions never quite develop for various reasons.

      When INTJs are critically depressed and stressed, the NiTe can be weakened to a point where the FiSe tries to keep you going-but remember, those are weaker to begin with and we’re talking about a stressful state, so they may not do so well. In this state, we may become like a not-so-healthy version of our polar opposite ESFP: emotionally unstable and raw, overindulging in drinking, food, sex, drugs, spending…until we can become healthier and our NiTe can be in charge. How we act when dysfunctional can be just as telling about our true type as when we’re healthy. Some of my healthy FiSe outlets are: healthy cooking/eating, martial arts, my marriage, my cats, music, and *controlled* imbibing of wine/margaritas!

      Some blogs would have you believe that being INTJ means that you should be unemotional, career-oriented, high-achieving, atheistic, and cold. Me? I value home and family first, have an 8-5 job, was a professional violinist, am not an atheist, get all mushy over cute animals, love shoes, and had “finding true love” as my #1 fantasy all through life until meeting my husband. However, I’ve also been accused of being Spock-like, having Asperger’s Syndrome, being soulless, and being mean when I was merely stating facts. Although not an atheist, I interpret my belief system differently than other traditional types, who seem judgmental of me. My job is in the science field. I’m somewhat isolationist. And I often feel frustrated by my mostly-ISTJ coworkers’ resistance to my ideas. Ah, ISTJs, you are useful, but you are literal, rule-obsessed, don’t get sarcasm, never color outside the lines or think outside the box, pick the low-hanging fruit, and never want to change anything if you’ve always done it that way! But my husband is one of you and I love you all anyway!

      There, hopefully this will post successfully. And yes, this is actually shorter than the original!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Jael, thanks for dropping by. I couldn’t agree more when you said about being pragmatic. Yes the downside of extreme INTJs is that we can be that cold (we try to understand emotions) and brutally destroy one’s confidence. Thanks for sharing, can relate to it. 😀

    Like

    1. Hi Dapsy,

      My sisters are both INFJ and seem like angsty alien creatures who love to be dramatic. They’re close to each other, but not to me. My brother might be ENFP. I think my sisters believe I’m evil, but my bro kind of gets me as he is equal parts artist and engineer. Hanging with “NF” types can be good for us but also frustrating as we try to understand their emotions. However, developing our emotional and sensory-indulgence functions a little can provide important balance to our objectivity and logic. Classical music, poetry, companion animals, art, nature, yoga, running, dancing…these are some examples of stuff that’s great for this. What activities do you do that help you get more in touch with your non-logical self?

      I also often wish people like my sisters could try and see reason every now and then, and stop holding their emotions as sacred, precious things that hold absolute precedence over thoughts. When people say “don’t you ever stop and think about how people might feel?”, I want to reply “did they ever stop and feel something about what I might think?”, just to make a point that my thoughts are as important to me as their emotions are to them. Of course, they’d just feel like that reply is “mean”, instead of seeing the point of it!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi Jennifer, thanks for your comment. I play instrument, poetry on my younger years, took care of pets (cat & fish, unusual combination I know) and now more on art/painting appreciation. I once said to someone to stop crying when talking to me, because that wouldn’t resolve anything. Lol

    Like

Leave your awesome comments

